A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #10

A Year Underfoot

 

July 12th, 2033

It’s early morning. The first of the three alien supply ships is preparing to lift off. If the other two follow suit this could be the start of a good day. I’ll have to wait and see.

Last night I decided to play this nightmare out close to home. I’m going to stay in the general area until I see how this is all going to shake out.

Fifty miles to the north lay Lake Casitas and the southern end of the Los Padres National Forest. It’s remote with hilly and rugged terrain and there are plenty of canyons to hide in. It offers everything I need as far as shelter and sustenance are concerned, – and, I can be there in less than a week.

My food situation is getting critical and I’m hoping that after the last of the transports blasts off the troopers will leave the area as well. I can’t see them hanging around Oxnard any longer if there isn’t anything left to guard, or destroy.

Once they’re gone I’ll make a run into town and sift through the rubble and see what I can find. I’m sure I’ll run across something. Until then I’m going to catch some sleep and dream of better days.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

