A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #17

A Year Underfoot

 

July 19th, 2033

I made it to the shores of Lake Casitas early this morning. The trip took a little longer than I’d expected, but I made it here, nonetheless. I’m settling in for the night on the southern side of the lake, a few hundred yards below Casitas Pass Road. Come sun-up, I’ll be moving on once again. I don’t like being wedged between the road and the lake, but I’m safe for now and I’m too tired to move another inch.

Now that I have access to fresh water, my situation doesn’t seem as dire as it did twenty-four hours ago. I’m still worried about food though. I’ll run out of the canned stuff soon enough and if I can’t pull fish out of this lake on a need-be-basis, I’m going to waste away. I’ve never hunted a day in my life, and I have no idea how to start now. I suppose when I get hungry enough I’ll figure it out and embrace my inner caveman.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

