A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #20

A Year Underfoot

 

July 27th, 2033

I was right.

For the past day and a half I’ve been hiking through the scrub toward Interstate 5. Once again the temperatures have been hovering in the low 100’s, but despite the oppressive heat, the persistent bugs and the warbirds buzzing overhead, I’ve managed to work myself into a position north of Pyramid Lake that affords me a clear view of the interstate.

I spent the morning watching huge alien vehicles ramble up and down the interstate at will. Whether or not the transports are filled with people, I don’t know. I’m praying they’re not.

I watched the road for twelve hours and in that time over three hundred vehicles rolled passed my position. The transports ran in convoys of six to nine strong and after watching them lumber over the steep grade for a few hours it dawned on me just how vulnerable the slow moving machines are out here on this lonely stretch of the road.

And, a smile crept across my face when I thought about what a few sticks of dynamite could do. One well placed charge, and I could bring the convoys to a halt.

Now, that’s an idea.

Training my infrareds on the road I saw the transports in a whole new light. No longer did they seem so untouchable and no longer did I feel so helpless.

There might be something I can do after all.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

