A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #48

A Year Underfoot

 

September 5th, 2033

Bagman has been out all morning checking on game traps and having a look about while I’ve spent most of the time sacked out, catching up on the sleep I’ve been missing over the past two months.

I never realized how beat up I was until I took a second to slow down.

I’d never noticed the constant throbbing of my feet, or the persistent soreness in my left leg, – and here I thought the rumbling in my stomach was from nerves, not hunger.

If I had a mirror I know I’d have a hard time recognizing myself these days. My hair has grown out every which way, and a crazy beard has sprouted and run amok. My clothes hang off me like those of an anorexic scarecrow in long forgotten corn field, and I don’t even want to think about what I must smell like since I can’t remember the last time I bathed.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

