A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #62

A Year Underfoot

 

October 1st, 2033

I’ve been racking my brain for a plan, but I haven’t come up with anything yet. To get back to the air base I’ve got a week’s worth of hard miles staring me in the face, and I always do my best thinking while I’m on the move, so I figure I’ll come up with something along the way.

Right now, I’m a little east of Carpinteria, about a half mile north of the furthest tip of the burn area. I’m at the western edge of the Los Padres National Forest facing the Santa Ynez Mountains to the east. The air base lays another forty miles south by southeast past the mountains. The terrain between the two is rough and varied, running the gamut from steep, wooded canyons, – thick with underbrush and obstacles, to wide open expanses of scrub and manzanita with few places to hide should a warbird appear overhead.

I have my work cut out for me.

At least the weather has cooled. That’s going to make a huge difference. I won’t have to carry as much water.

I gathered up my little caches of foodstuffs and gear and sorted through them this afternoon. I’ve packed light, a half of a dozen cans of tuna, a couple of packets of soup, coffee, and a dozen energy bars. As far as gear goes, of course my .357 and the C-4 are no-brainers, as are the field glasses and the flashlight. I’m also carrying some ammo, a knife, a lighter, a compass, my Swiss army knife and a multi-tool.

No sleeping bag, no blankets, nothing bulky at all.

A couple of extra shirts and sweaters for warmth.

A pair of tins for my soup and coffee and I’m good to go.

Okay, this it. I’m really doing this.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

