A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #75

A Year Underfoot

 

 

October 30th, 2033

It’s like how the old saying goes, – either getting busy living, or get busy dying. I suppose that’s what it all boils down to. I can either fight back against the Threak, I mean really bring to them in a high stakes, –go big or go home kind of way, or I can curl up into a ball and die.

Curl up into a ball and die?

That’s not going to happen.

What I need to do is blow up a battleship.

The closest one is hovering over Los Angeles.

I’m well aware it sounds overly simplistic, but that’s the gist of what needs to be done. Time is running out. Without action we won’t survive much longer. If not me, then who?

Our numbers have been decimated. If twenty per cent of the world’s population is still alive I’d be surprised. I’m afraid the true number falls significantly below that. Someone has to bust a move before it’s too late.

That someone might as well be me.

The way I see it, we’ve been beaten and we’re scared, we’re cold and we’re hungry, and, worst of all, we’ve lost our faith, – true enough, but, what we haven’t lost, and I know this in my heart, is our will to survive. The will to survive burns inside me, as it still does in countless others. It’s what has kept us alive so far, and it’s what will continue to keep us alive, despite what the future may hold.

Something has changed in me, something profound. Something I hadn’t thought of, or even could’ve imagined only a few short days ago, – I want you to live. It doesn’t matter if I make it through this alive, only that you do.

If humanity doesn’t survive, if we go quietly in the night, the Threak win.

And, I can’t stand losing.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

