A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #88

A Year Underfoot

 

November 15th, 2033

I had another vision this morning.

I found myself floating in a strange luminescent cloud. A light mist enveloped me and a gentle wind pushed me along. I felt the sensations of the wind in my hair and the moisture on my body. All my senses were on heightened alert.

Off in the distance, the alien woman with the jet-black hair stood waiting. Again, she was adorned in flowing white linens, and again, her body radiated a pure white energy. She is, without a doubt, the most beautiful creature I have ever seen.

She beckoned me to come to her. I tried, but I couldn’t move my legs. I was frozen in place. I couldn’t move at all, not my legs, nor my arms.

Still, she beckoned me forward, her eyes imploring me to come to her, yet, try as I might, I couldn’t break free.

Thunder clapped in the far off in the distance and the wind began to pick up. The mist around me grew darker and, in short time, I lost sight of her.

The thunder drew closer and a terrific bolt of lightning shot through the starry sky. An ominous black cloud, much darker and much more menacing than the others, approached my celestial perch and a cold chill ran down my spine. As the menace drew near, I saw the reason for my gathering fear, – poking through the mist I spied the silhouettes of massive bipedal creatures, which I knew could only be Threak troopers.

As they approached, my fear stood on end. Upon closer inspection, the troopers were dead, – quite dead, and had been for quite some time. They stood at attention, facing me in various states of decomposition. Most were missing limbs, while others stood eviscerated, and a few were burnt beyond recognition. An army of the dead, – dressed out in full, fresh battle-gear, were coming for me, and I couldn’t move a muscle.

Was I responsible for their deaths?

As our two worlds collided, they stepped off of their cloud and onto mine. They formed a column and marched toward me three abreast. I continued to struggle, but it was no use.

Then, telepathically, she spoke to me.

“You have to believe.”

Believe, believe what? I pleaded with my legs to move and I looked back up at her as the dead aliens marched toward me.

Believe, believe what? I don’t understand? A million things shot through my mind. Belief in God? Belief in self? Belief in them? Belief in….

Then a singular thought came to mind. The only belief that mattered to me, or to anyone else at this point, was the belief that we could defeat them. The belief we could drive them from our planet.

And, it hit me. It hit me hard.

I can defeat them, – look at them, they’re dead! Dead soldiers all in a row. They die too!. They can be killed. I can defeat them! I can do this! I can do this!

The dead troopers still approached, and I reveled in my newfound belief.

I will kill you, every last one of you!

My left leg lurched forward and my right followed suite. With each stutter step, and each declaration of purpose, my stride grew longer and stronger and my balance more sure. A few feet further and I was up to speed, dashing forward to meet the enemy and start exercising my beliefs.

“I believe.” I said it out loud, in fact, I screamed it.

As the words left my mouth, the troopers faded away and I awoke once more in the scrub.

I can do this!

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

