A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #91

A Year Underfoot

 

November 20th, 2033

When the clouds opened up over the air base I had to move quickly. I had no doubt the rains would be heavy enough to throw the Threak into lock-down mode and I wanted to take full advantage of that eventuality. Maybe I could get close enough to find a weakness, or maybe I could get a message inside. I didn’t know what to expect, I only knew that I’d come this far and I had to try. My friends were inside.

I slipped out of the hills and angled toward the southeast corner of the base. I was five hundred yards west of the holding pen when an intense bolt of lightning split the northern skies in front of me. Seconds later, a booming thunderclap shook the valley floor and I jumped at its ferocity. This was one angry storm and it was heading my way.

Okay, bring it on.

A second round of lightning flashed across the sky and another clap of thunder promptly answered back. The brunt of the storm was closing in, and closing fast. Sheets of rain whipped across the landscape as the wind picked up and a third, much greater display of lightning lit up the night. Above my head crackling veins of electricity shot down and struck various parts of the alien compound. Even from their onset it looked as if the lightning strikes were drawn to certain sectors of the base, and when the base fell dark and the fence ceased to operate I knew exactly what had happened. The lightning strikes were drawn to the Threak’s portable power cores, and apparently, the two don’t mix. Fire meet gasoline, gasoline, – I give you fire.

No wonder why the Threak are skittish in the rain.

With the fences down, the floodgates opened and I stood there laughing like a fool in the rain as the flight to freedom began. Hundreds of people flowed out of the camp, and while most headed south for the nearby low laying hills of the Tehacapi Range, others took their chances by heading back across Interstate 5 and the safety of the coastal range. If Dan and his family were among those who’d escaped, this would be the route they would take, so that’s the way I went, west across the Interstate.

We didn’t know it then, but it would be another two hours before the thunderstorm would let up enough for the Threak to release a contingent of troopers to battle the fires, – and another full hour until the first of the troop transports were spotted leaving the north entrance of the base.

By then it was too late. Everyone had cleared the area. It was quite sight to see, and one I know I’ll never forget.

Thank you Mother Nature.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

