A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #98

A Year Underfoot

 

December 5th, 2033

For the third straight day I lugged the 2-way up to the ridge and took to the airwaves. Today, my perseverance paid off, I finally got an answer. I’ve made contact with a guy using the handle Alpha Omega One, who thanked me for the low-down on the air base and then dropped a bombshell of his own.

The Threak have started harvesting the planet.

As I write this, a trio of enormous, low-flying craft creep imperceptibly over the Southern Sierras. They operate at tree top level and as they pass overhead, they suck up everything in their path down to depth of ten feet. Once inside, the flora and fauna are separated from the dirt and rock and are funneled into storage vats, while the dirt and rock are spit back to the ground and are left in the massive ship’s wake.

Just like in the visions.

Now, how long it takes the Threak to strip a planet remains to be seen, but I’m guessing it can’t be too long, not what with the equipment they’re packing. I know there’s more than just the three harvest vessels working the planet, but exactly how many there may be, I don’t know. If I had to guess, I’d say, hundreds, maybe thousands. Considering they scorched three quarters of the planet during their invasion, I d say it’ll take them anywhere from five to ten years to steal what s left.

It doesn’t leave us much time.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

