A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #107

A Year Underfoot

 

December 17th, 2033

Clouds are rolling in from the west and it looks like rain. Normally, I’d be gearing up to head out for a little hit-and-run along the Interstate, but not today. I can’t leave Jessie and Rachel here at the cabin by themselves, and I certainly can’t take them with me. So, here I sit.

Thinking long term, – this is not going to work out.

What am I going to do?

Concede to the obvious.

I’m in no position to take care of Lucky, let alone a pair of kids. And, the Threak know my name, for crying out loud, they get me, and they get the kids. I can’t let that happen. No way, no how.

When it comes down to it, I really have only one option.

Dan and Maureen Wolfe.

Come sundown I’ll head up to the ridge and call on their camp. I know it’s a lot to ask, two more mouths to feed, let alone two more lives to be responsible for, but I’m praying they’ll understand and do the right thing. They know I can’t drop out of the fight, and these kids need a home.
amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

