A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #114

A Year Underfoot

 

December 26th, 2033

I spent yesterday alternating between eating and sleeping, before finally nodding off for good some time after sunset. I hadn’t the energy or the inclination to do anything else.

Today, however, is a different matter. Today I feel stronger and a bit claustrophobic. So, after a quick bite to eat, I’m going to lug the radio up to the ridge line and see what’s cooking.

December 26th, 2033
(second entry)

I spent most of the night up on the ridge. I messed around with the radio a bit, but mainly I looked out over the valley and tried to make sense of the past few days.

When it comes right down to it, I did what I had to do. I have no regrets. Not a one.

I had to send the kids up north for their protection, – that was a no-brainer.

And, as for killing a man, I had no choice but to pull the trigger to protect myself. The poor soul was deranged, -he was not lucid, he was not going to stop, -he was going to kill me. Of that, I am certain. I had to fire, I no other choice. Classic self-defense. Can I put behind me? Should I put it behind me? I don’t know, and I don’t know, those are the only answers I can come up with.

That, and time will tell.

So, where do I go from here?

Attack the Threak, what else is there?

But, first I have to rest up. Both my mind and my body are a wreck. A few days of rest and relaxation are the start of what I need to get back up to snuff. After that, I’m all about the business of getting back into the fight.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

