A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #140

A Year Underfoot

 

February 1st, 2034

I thought I was prepared for what I would find.

Guess again.

I knew Los Angeles had been destroyed. I was under no illusion that any part of her had been spared. I had seen the fires, and felt the heat of the flames myself, but I had no idea what destroyed really meant, or really looked like until today. After a full day of wandering through the twisted rubble of my former hometown and gazing out over the flat, gray, ash-strewn landscape, I can only describe destroyed as, well, complete, absolute and surreal.

There is no vegetation. There are no birds. There are no bugs. There is no life, – non-whatsoever. There s only quiet desolation, – a deep gray quiet desolation.

I stuck close to the PCH and followed the transports south and as we neared the rubble of Santa Monica it occurred to me were they were heading, – Los Angeles International Airport.

LAX, of course, – flat, open tarmac.

And, a few miles later my suspicions were confirmed when I was greeted by smaller, yet fully functional Threak base rising up from the ashes of LAX.

What are they doing down here?
amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

