A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #148

A Year Underfoot

 

February 11th, 2034

I left out of No Mans Land early this morning and by sunset I was back in Malibu overlooking the PCH. I had to get out of that gray and barren wasteland. Too much death and destruction staring me in the face, too many reminders, I couldn’t take it anymore. I’m certain I would go crazy living in the ashes, – as I suspect that’s what s happening to those kids down there.

February 11th, 2034
(second entry)

I hooked up the radio and caught up on the news of the past few days. The Threak are still roaming about the Sierras, but not nearly in the same numbers, nor with the same zeal as they’d possessed only a few weeks back. They’ve scaled down their operation considerably, but they haven’t left for good. Most likely, they’re regrouping and will be back in a couple of months when the snows melt and large numbers of people are more apt to be outdoors.

As to what s happening elsewhere, reports coming out of Denver are sketchy at best and no one has heard from anyone on the eastern seaboard since the invasion went down.

I would imagine this invasion is playing out differently for all of us.

I took to the airwaves and let everyone know about the facility at LAX. No one had heard of the installation before, but with the particulars now out over the wire, I’m sure the answer will come back to me soon. I’m sure this isn’t the only plant of its kind. No doubt someone else has already cracked this beast and lived to tell the tale. Maybe I’ll get some answers in the morning.

I signed off near midnight and laid back, staring up at the stars as I drifted off to sleep.

How differently I look at them now.
amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

