A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #150

A Year Underfoot

 

February 13th, 2034

Mixed among the traffic headed south on the PCH today were a half dozen of the sleeker mid-sized assault vehicles. They rolled past early this morning and I’m afraid their deployment means trouble for someone, somewhere down the line.

Namely, the kids down in No Mans Land.

I’m sure they’ll see them coming. They’ve made it this far. They’re a smart bunch.

I did a bit more fishing today and, at the risk of sounding ungrateful, I’ve had my fill of fish, and fish byproducts. What I wouldn’t give for a greasy burger with fries, or a large pepperoni pizza right about now.

And, a milkshake. Any flavor.

But back in the here and now, I have fish, some to eat now, and some to smoke for later. And, trust me, I’m not complaining. My lot is far better than most, and don’t think for a minute it doesn’t go unnoticed. The fact of the matter is I’ve had it pretty good for quite a while and I know it. I’ve only had to look out for myself. And, don’t think that hasn’t gone unnoticed as well.

I suppose I’ve been noticing a lot of things lately.

Rain is coming. That’s always a good thing. The more rain the better. It keeps the Threak indoors and off my back, and that’s the way I like it. I remember something about this being an El Nino year. I hope I’m right. An El Nino weather pattern is going to bring a lot of humidity, – meaning, a lot of thunder and lightning, and a lot of rainfall.

I hope so. The nastier the storm, the better it is for us. We can take it. The Threak can’t. Lightning is the only entity I’ve ever seen that truly scares them. It stops them in their tracks and makes them run for cover. There’s nothing else like it.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

