A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #156

A Year Underfoot

 

February 23rd, 2034

I packed up shop and left out of my misery early this afternoon. Something inside switched on and I had to get up and get moving. I’ve been hiking north and breathing deeper ever since. As the miles fly by the emotional baggage is slowly dropping off and I’m feeling better all the time. A weight is being lifted. I can feel it. My spirit is being restored.

Looking back, I must’ve had a panic attack.

I’m surprised I haven’t had one sooner.

 

February 23rd, 2034
(second entry)

I’m spending the evening here on the northern edge of the Santa Monica Mountains and I’m looking down at the stillness of the Oxnard oil fields below. In the fading light, the shadows cast by the hundreds of T-shaped pumps frozen in various positions are quite a sight to behold.

A herd of prehistoric creatures painted on the ground.

I wonder if future generations, should there be any, will know what these pumps were once used for…
amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

