A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #209

A Year Underfoot

 

May 25th, 2034

Last night I slept on the outdoor balcony of a two-story beach house a stone’s throw from the beach. I have to say, I slept like a baby. It must’ve been the pounding surf that lulled me into such a sound sleep, – but, I have to take note to never do that again. I was so out of it, so far gone into the land of nod, I wouldn’t have heard a creak, groan or moan even if an entire Threak battalion had entered the house, climbed the stairs and stood over me singing show tunes.

Deep sleep has become a dangerous proposition.

May 25th, 2034
(second entry)

The fishing has been good and if it keeps up I’ll have a couple of weeks worth of fish jerky in no time at all. I’m going to miss Bagman’s cooking, but I’ll miss his friendship even more. I still can’t get over the fact he bought it like that. I thought he was indestructible. I guess none of us are. You’d think I d know that by now.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

