A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #210

A Year Underfoot

 

May 26th, 2034

The warbirds are buzzing up and down the coast more so than normal, which leads me to believe the Fuzzies are up to something. But what that something might be, I haven’t a clue. I can only speculate. My 2-way radio was destroyed in the raid and, consequently, I’m out of the loop, – and barring a miracle, I will be for quite some time.

May 26th, 2034
(second entry)

I left Oxnard this evening and followed the Pacific Coast Highway south. At a certain point outside the city limits, the road meets the coastline and hugs it tightly for as far as the eye can see. Here, squeezed between the wind-swept ocean and the rolling green hills of the coastal range, I set up camp and called it a night.

I slept soundly throughout the night, but when the sun came up, so did another vision.

Images flashed by, slow, disjointed….

… The outside of a battleship… Threak royalty on the bridge of the ship… a flurry of activity; troopers and officers scurrying about, a grave problem has arisen. The ship is losing power…

Then, the slideshow ended – and real-time began.

Back on the bridge, chaos rules the day. Red, blue and yeallow warning lights flash on and off, while ear-piercing klaxons shrill loudly and relentlessly in the close quarters. Fear is etched on the faces of the enemy and judging from their panic-stricken eyes, there is no coming back from this one. Officers grunt orders and their obedient minions run to and fro, all in an effort to keep the ship alive, but it is too late, – the die has been cast, the seed has been sown. The ship is dying, and there is nothing they can do to stop it.

A smile spreads across my face, – I did this. I brought this ship down. I’m the chaos, – if I have the stones, – thanks to a little nugget of information the Retratti have shared with me, – namely, how to contaminate a battleship’s power core. I can do this over and over again. It’s simple, really.

And, just like that, I’m back in the hope business.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

