A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #213

A Year Underfoot

 

May 29th, 2034

I made Simi Valley just after midnight and scoped the place out from a distance as best I could. Neighborhood after neighborhood lay stretched out before me, and while most lay flattened and burned, a few blocks on the southern end of town appeared to have emerged relatively unscathed.

Going house to house I found most everything I was looking for, namely, a little food, a few knives, ropes and an old refillable Zippo lighter. There was so much more I could have gathered if I were heading back to the hills, but I’ve got things to do. I’m traveling light and traveling light means just that. Every extra ounce wears heavy when you’re walking twenty, thirty miles a pop. If I can’t eat it, drink it, wear it, or fight with it, I don’t need it. Simple stuff.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

