A YEAR UNDERFOOT – entry #231

A Year Underfoot

 

June 21st, 2034

I woke up before sunrise to the sound of a single gunshot ringing across the hills. I sprang to my feet, wiping the sleep from my eyes as I did so, and as I gathered my wits about me, the unmistakable rapid-fire report of automatic weapons shattered the still of the predawn hour. Short bursts, followed by long bursts, followed by short bursts, – and then every manner in between echoed far and wide across the lonely landscape. A real hay maker was taking place somewhere to the south, but exactly where, I couldn’t put my finger on it. All I knew for sure, it was automatic weapon fire, and only automatic weapon fire, not a Threak blaster to be heard amongst the cacophony.

My heart sank, – are people fighting people?

Please, God, no.

I secured my area and turned my attention to the south. I stowed the supplies I d gathered up over the past few days and struck camp to investigate.

By the time I left camp it was silent. Twenty minutes had passed since the last of the gun play had rattled my nerves and as I was about to turn tail and head back to camp I heard voices coming over the next rise.

People!

One by one, they stepped out of the darkness and strode into view. I recognized them straight off, it was the kids from No Mans Land, – still alive and well, and armed to the teeth.

I called out to them and they called back, and after we’d spent a few minutes catching up they told me what they were doing so far north.

They’d come to attack the air base.

I listened as they began to lay out their plan and I took it all in, all the while wondering how to dovetail my plans with theirs. When Saunders, the leader of the bunch, described how they were targeting the power core, my heart nearly leapt out of my chest. If they succeeded in taking the power core, I was in. No two ways about it.

After I d chipped in my two cents about the layout of the air base, I let them in on what I had in store.

I told them everything, from the earliest visions, – down to my plans for the mothership.

Their support was immediate.

I couldn’t be more grateful. I now had my diversion.

I m really going to get a shot at the mothership.

I really am.

amazon.com/a-year-underfoot

About paul nevins

Fiction writer, reader and baseball fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

